News
Farm network news
Changes to Starlink rules and hardware, rural providers, FCC actions, farm networking gear and safety recalls that matter on a farm or a parcel you are checking. Every post links its source.
Updated Works with any internet provider at the house.
Recalls in the last 90 days
Starlink hardwarePress reports
Starlink Mini kit listed at $149 in the US, reports say
Two outlets report the Starlink Mini kit at $149 in the US from 2026-10-02. They disagree on the price before. What it changes for a portable land test.
Announced Effective Updated
Plan rulesPrimary source
Starlink opens a beta that lets one host sell Wi-Fi passes from a single kit
Starlink Community is a beta where a host shares one Starlink kit and nearby users buy hour, day, week or month passes. What it means for farms with a second house.
Announced Effective not statedUpdated
Farm gear & camerasPrimary source
weBoost Sky: a $149.99 vehicle booster made for T-Mobile’s Starlink phone service
weBoost’s Sky boosts T-Mobile T-Satellite (Starlink direct-to-cell) inside a vehicle. What it does and doesn’t do for ranch trucks and property visits.
Announced Effective Updated
Network & satellitesPress reports
Starship carries its first Starlink V3 satellites to orbit
On 2026-09-28 Starship reached orbit for the first time and deployed Starlink V3 satellites, each said to add about 1 Tbps. What it may mean for rural capacity.
Announced Effective Updated
Plan rulesPrimary source
Starlink’s optional Mini Kit for Travel extends to every Residential plan, not just Max
Starlink’s support page now offers a no-cost Mini rental with lower Roam rates to Residential customers in select countries, not only Max. Farm and land-test angle.
Announced Effective not statedUpdated
Starlink hardwarePress reports
Starlink announces Router 4 with Wi-Fi 7 and two Ethernet ports
Starlink’s Router 4 adds Wi-Fi 7, keeps two Ethernet LAN ports and has an IP56 rating but is set up for indoor use. No price or date yet. What it means for barn links.
Announced Effective not statedUpdated
RecallsPrimary source
Goal Zero recalls about 46,200 YETI 3000X power stations; the fix is a free firmware update
CPSC recall 26-712, 2026-08-20: about 46,200 Goal Zero YETI 3000X power stations. The circuit board can overheat. Stop using it and install the free firmware repair.
Announced Effective Updated
Programs, FCC & providersPrimary source
Hughes files for Chapter 11 and says HughesNet service continues
Hughes Satellite Systems filed for Chapter 11 on 2026-08-03 and says customers see no change. What it means for farms weighing rural internet options.
Announced Effective Updated
Plan rulesPress reports
Starlink adds 12-month Mini payments for Roam and puts the Standard dish back in Roam orders
From late July 2026, Roam customers could pay for a Mini at $16 a month for 12 months, and the Standard dish returned as a $349 Roam option. Land-test angle.
Announced Effective Updated
Starlink hardwarePress reports
FCC notice: Starlink routers get a conditional approval under the foreign-router rule, through 2028-02-01
An FCC notice on 2026-07-27 said Starlink routers have a conditional approval exempting them from the Covered List rule on foreign-made routers, valid through 2028-02-01.
Announced Effective Updated
Plan rulesPress reportsBackground
New Starlink Residential customers rent the dish for $10 a month and can’t use Standby Mode
Since mid-June 2026, new Residential customers get hardware only as a $10/month rental, and rented kits can’t use Standby Mode. What it means for seasonal farm sites.
Announced Effective Updated
RecallsPrimary sourceBackground
Wyze recalls about 321,360 Solar Cam Pan cameras: assembly instructions can lead to a punctured battery
CPSC recall 26-524, 2026-06-04: about 321,360 Wyze Solar Cam Pan cameras (model WYZESCPWH). Wrong assembly instructions can lead to a punctured battery and fire. Stop using it.
Announced Effective Updated
Plan rulesPress reportsBackground
Starlink raises US plan prices $5 to $10 a month and doubles Standby Mode to $10
Starlink raised US Residential and Roam prices and Standby Mode from $5 to $10 a month, from June 2026 bills. What it changes for remote cameras and seasonal sites.
Announced Effective Updated
RecallsPrimary sourceBackground
Generac recalls about 149,400 portable generators over a fuel leak when first filled
CPSC recall 26-407, 2026-04-16: about 149,400 Generac portable generators can leak fuel from the carburetor when first filled. Check your model and serial number on generac.com.
Announced Effective Updated
Programs, FCC & providersPress reportsBackground
FCC puts new foreign-made consumer routers on its Covered List; routers already approved stay legal
On 2026-03-23 the FCC added foreign-produced consumer routers to its Covered List, so new models need a conditional approval. Routers already approved can still be sold and used.
Announced Effective Updated
Starlink hardwarePress reportsBackground
Reviewer measures about 25% lower idle power on Starlink Standard and Mini dishes
DISHYtech reported in January 2026 that its tests show Standard and Mini dishes idling at about 25% less power. One reviewer’s measurement, not a Starlink spec.
Announced Effective not statedUpdated
Plan rulesPress reportsBackground
Starlink renames its US home plans Residential Max, 200 Mbps and 100 Mbps
In January 2026 Starlink renamed Residential and Lite to Residential Max and 200 Mbps, and brought back a 100 Mbps plan in select areas. Farm angle on picking a tier.
Announced Effective Updated
Plan rulesPress reportsBackground
Starlink’s Roam 50GB plan becomes Roam 100GB at the same price, with slow data after the cap
From 2026-01-13 Starlink doubled its entry Roam plan to 100GB and replaced paid overage with unlimited slow data. What it means for a portable land test.
Announced Effective Updated
Farm gear & camerasPrimary sourceBackground
Ring and Watch Duty announce Fire Watch: wildfire alerts and smoke detection on outdoor Ring cameras
On 2026-01-06 Ring and Watch Duty announced Fire Watch: wildfire alerts in the Ring app and smoke and flame detection on outdoor cameras for Ring Protect subscribers.
Announced Effective not statedUpdated
Farm gear & camerasPrimary sourceBackground
UniFi Protect flaw let someone on the local network reach Protect cameras; fixed in version 6.2.72
On 2026-01-05 a high-severity flaw in the UniFi Protect app (6.1.79 and earlier) was published. Someone on your local network could reach a camera. Update to 6.2.72 or later.
Announced Effective Updated
Programs, FCC & providersPress reportsBackground
FCC adds foreign-made drones and drone parts to its Covered List; drones already approved stay legal
On 2025-12-22 the FCC put new foreign-made drones and key parts on its Covered List. Drones already approved can still be sold and flown. What farms with ag drones should know.
Announced Effective Updated
Starlink hardwarePrimary sourceBackground
Starlink ends software updates for the Gen 1 router and offers a free Router Mini
Starlink began emailing Gen 1 router owners in November 2025: updates are ending and a free Router Mini is offered. The Router Mini needs its own power, not PoE.
Announced Effective not statedUpdated
Plan rulesPress reportsBackground
Starlink replaces free pause with a $5 Standby Mode that keeps 500 Kbps data
In August 2025 Starlink swapped its free pause option for a paid Standby Mode with unlimited 500 Kbps data. Background on the option seasonal farm sites use.
Announced Effective Updated
Network & satellitesPrimary sourceBackground
Starlink explains how dishes switch satellites to route around trees and buildings
Starlink’s 2025-07-30 update explains how dishes map obstructions and switch satellites many times a minute. What it means for wooded farm and parcel sites.
Announced Effective Updated
Network & satellitesPrimary sourceBackground
Starlink reports US median peak-hour download near 200 Mbps and latency of 25.7 ms
Starlink’s 2025-07-14 network update gave US peak-hour medians: nearly 200 Mbps down and 25.7 ms latency, and 100/20 Mbps on its lower tier. Background for camera planning.
Announced Effective Updated
Programs, FCC & providersPress reportsBackground
T-Mobile launches T-Satellite, texting through Starlink satellites, on 2025-07-23
T-Mobile’s T-Satellite, which lets phones text through Starlink satellites outside tower range, launched 2025-07-23, with some app data from 2025-10-01. Ranch angle.
Announced Effective Updated
Starlink hardwarePress reportsBackground
Starlink adds a $40 Router Mini and cuts the Gen 3 router to $80
In May 2025 Starlink launched a $40 Router Mini (Wi-Fi 6, WAN + LAN) and cut its Gen 3 mesh router to $80. Background on cheap mesh nodes and where they fall short on farms.
Announced Effective Updated
Data changelog
Every update to the facts and parts prices, including checks where nothing changed.
- : First data set: 21 networking parts priced from retailer and maker pages (US retail, before tax and shipping) and 63 technical and Starlink facts with sources. Mini price and Roam plan prices conflicted between sources: Mini shown as a reported price, Roam marked unverified.