News category
Starlink hardware
Routers, dishes and kits: ports, power and support status.
Updated Works with any internet provider at the house.
Recalls in the last 90 days
Starlink hardwarePress reports
Starlink Mini kit listed at $149 in the US, reports say
Two outlets report the Starlink Mini kit at $149 in the US from 2026-10-02. They disagree on the price before. What it changes for a portable land test.
Announced Effective Updated
Starlink hardwarePress reports
Starlink announces Router 4 with Wi-Fi 7 and two Ethernet ports
Starlink’s Router 4 adds Wi-Fi 7, keeps two Ethernet LAN ports and has an IP56 rating but is set up for indoor use. No price or date yet. What it means for barn links.
Announced Effective not statedUpdated
Starlink hardwarePress reports
FCC notice: Starlink routers get a conditional approval under the foreign-router rule, through 2028-02-01
An FCC notice on 2026-07-27 said Starlink routers have a conditional approval exempting them from the Covered List rule on foreign-made routers, valid through 2028-02-01.
Announced Effective Updated
Starlink hardwarePress reportsBackground
Reviewer measures about 25% lower idle power on Starlink Standard and Mini dishes
DISHYtech reported in January 2026 that its tests show Standard and Mini dishes idling at about 25% less power. One reviewer’s measurement, not a Starlink spec.
Announced Effective not statedUpdated
Starlink hardwarePrimary sourceBackground
Starlink ends software updates for the Gen 1 router and offers a free Router Mini
Starlink began emailing Gen 1 router owners in November 2025: updates are ending and a free Router Mini is offered. The Router Mini needs its own power, not PoE.
Announced Effective not statedUpdated
Starlink hardwarePress reportsBackground
Starlink adds a $40 Router Mini and cuts the Gen 3 router to $80
In May 2025 Starlink launched a $40 Router Mini (Wi-Fi 6, WAN + LAN) and cut its Gen 3 mesh router to $80. Background on cheap mesh nodes and where they fall short on farms.
Announced Effective Updated