News category
Plan rules
Starlink plan and policy changes that matter on a farm, ranch or parcel.
Updated Works with any internet provider at the house.
Recalls in the last 90 days
Plan rulesPrimary source
Starlink opens a beta that lets one host sell Wi-Fi passes from a single kit
Starlink Community is a beta where a host shares one Starlink kit and nearby users buy hour, day, week or month passes. What it means for farms with a second house.
Announced Effective not statedUpdated
Plan rulesPrimary source
Starlink’s optional Mini Kit for Travel extends to every Residential plan, not just Max
Starlink’s support page now offers a no-cost Mini rental with lower Roam rates to Residential customers in select countries, not only Max. Farm and land-test angle.
Announced Effective not statedUpdated
Plan rulesPress reports
Starlink adds 12-month Mini payments for Roam and puts the Standard dish back in Roam orders
From late July 2026, Roam customers could pay for a Mini at $16 a month for 12 months, and the Standard dish returned as a $349 Roam option. Land-test angle.
Announced Effective Updated
Plan rulesPress reportsBackground
New Starlink Residential customers rent the dish for $10 a month and can’t use Standby Mode
Since mid-June 2026, new Residential customers get hardware only as a $10/month rental, and rented kits can’t use Standby Mode. What it means for seasonal farm sites.
Announced Effective Updated
Plan rulesPress reportsBackground
Starlink raises US plan prices $5 to $10 a month and doubles Standby Mode to $10
Starlink raised US Residential and Roam prices and Standby Mode from $5 to $10 a month, from June 2026 bills. What it changes for remote cameras and seasonal sites.
Announced Effective Updated
Plan rulesPress reportsBackground
Starlink renames its US home plans Residential Max, 200 Mbps and 100 Mbps
In January 2026 Starlink renamed Residential and Lite to Residential Max and 200 Mbps, and brought back a 100 Mbps plan in select areas. Farm angle on picking a tier.
Announced Effective Updated
Plan rulesPress reportsBackground
Starlink’s Roam 50GB plan becomes Roam 100GB at the same price, with slow data after the cap
From 2026-01-13 Starlink doubled its entry Roam plan to 100GB and replaced paid overage with unlimited slow data. What it means for a portable land test.
Announced Effective Updated
Plan rulesPress reportsBackground
Starlink replaces free pause with a $5 Standby Mode that keeps 500 Kbps data
In August 2025 Starlink swapped its free pause option for a paid Standby Mode with unlimited 500 Kbps data. Background on the option seasonal farm sites use.
Announced Effective Updated